Back to news 10/30/12



Capitol Records Nashville recording artist and newest Grand Ole Opry member, Darius Rucker will release his third country studio album, True Believers, on January 22, 2013. Darius wrote ten of the twelve tracks on True Believers including the title track and debut single which is currently Top 20 and climbing.  

“For this album, we really paid attention to what our friends and fans were telling us on the road,” shares Rucker. “The result is an album that I’m so proud of because my fans really have been the true believers since I released my first single to country radio. I can’t wait for everyone to hear it on January 22nd.”

Rucker’s first two country albums, Learn To Live and Charleston, SC 1966 both topped the Billboard Country album chart and produced five No. 1 singles including “Come Back Song,” “This,” “Alright,” “It Won’t Be Like This For Long” and “Don’t Think I Don’t Think About It.”
True Believers
Track Listing:

1. True Believers (Darius Rucker, Josh Kear)

2. Miss You (Darius Rucker, Frank Rogers)

3. Wagon Wheel (Bob Dylan, Jay Secor)

4. Love Without You (Brandy Clark, Shane McAnally)

5. Radio (Darius Rucker, Luke Laird, Ashley Gorley)

6. Lost In You (Darius Rucker, Mark Nesler, Phillip White)

7. I Will Love You Still (Darius Rucker, Josh Kear)

8. Take Me Home (Darius Rucker, Frank Rogers, Monty Criswell)

9. Shine (Darius Rucker, Frank Rogers)

10. Heartbreak Road (Darius Rucker, Dallas Davidson, Rhett Akins)

11. Leavin’ The Light On (Darius Rucker, David Lee Murphy, Phil O’Donnell)

12. Lie To Me (Darius Rucker, Rodney Clawson, Bob DiPiero.

The album was produced by Frank Rogers (Learn To Live and Charleston, SC 1969).

Rucker is currently nominated for Musical Event of the Year at this year’s 46th Annual CMA Awards for his performance of “Stuck on You” with Lionel Richie. In 2009 he was named New Artist of the Year at the CMA Awards. Most recently, Rucker achieved a personal goal and childhood dream when he was inducted into the Grand Ole Opry becoming the newest member on October 16, 2012.

On Tuesday (October 30th), Darius invited special guests to preview his new album, True Believers, during a performance at the Country Music Hall of Fame and Museum in Nashville. He was joined by several of the writers on the project.

“I have learned that the heart and soul of country music is the songwriters,” Darius said before thanking the contributors on the album.

AUDIO: Darius Rucker said he and his producer Frank Rogers definitely wanted to have his third album, True Believers, sound a little different than his previous two records.

Darius Rucker (new album) OC: …definitely different. :30
“With the last record, Frank [Rogers] and I actually even talked about just picking up where we left off really. We thought we did something cool with the first record, and we just figured we’d pick up from there. And then with this record, we just wanted to do something a little different. I don’t think we knew what different meant; we just wanted to sound different. It was fun getting the songs together and everything. It was another great experience with great guys. Here in Nashville it’s always fun, and guys coming to Charleston and hanging out, and it was a great time writing it. But I think when you put on the three records, we wanted you to say this one was definitely different.”