Back to news 09/12/19


George Strait

George Strait is set to reissue his Strait Out of the Box: Part 1 on Friday (September 13th), available exclusively at Walmart.

The 72-track collection takes a delightful trip through Strait’s early recording career, specifically 1981 to 1995, and features 31 No. 1 singles such as “You Look So Good in Love,” “All My Ex’s Live in Texas” and “Check Yes or No.” What makes the collection even more special is the fact that each track was personally selected by the Texan himself. The RIAA has certified Strait Out of the Box as 8X Platinum for sales of  more than 8 million units.

In addition to the physical box set, a revamped Strait Out of the Box: Part 1 & 2 playlist is available to stream HERE, and fans can watch George Strait’s full collection of music videos HERE, newly remastered in HD.

Also on September 13th, Strait celebrates the release of the official soundtrack for Country Music – A Film By Ken Burns, an eight part PBS documentary spanning the history of country music. Strait will join artists such as Randy Travis and The Judds on the soundtrack via his signature hit “Amarillo By Morning.”

With an unparalleled 60 singles hitting the top of the charts – more than any other artist in any genre – during the span of his 30+ year career, Strait is the undeniable “King of Country Music.” He has collected 33 Platinum or multi-Platinum-selling albums, more than any country artist and ranking third across all genres behind only The Beatles and Elvis Presley. Strait is the only act in history to have a Top 10 hit every year for over three decades and has sold nearly 70 million albums and earned more than 60 major entertainment industry awards.

Strait Out Of The Box: Part 1

Disc 1 (1976-1983)

  1. I Just Can’t Go On Dying Like This
  2. (That Don’t Change) The Way I Feel About You
  3. I Don’t Want To Talk It Over Anymore
  4. Unwound
  5. Blame It On Mexico
  6. Her Goodbye Hit Me In The Heart
  7. If You’re Thinking You Want A Stranger (There’s One Coming Home)
  8. Any Old Love Won’t Do
  9. Fool Hearted Memory
  10. Marina Del Rey
  11. I Can’t See Texas From Here
  12. Heartbroke
  13. What Would Your Memories Do
  14. Amarillo By Morning
  15. I Thought I Heard You Calling My Name
  16. A Fire I Can’t Put Out
  17. You Look So Good In Love
  18. 80 Proof Bottle Of Tear Stopper

Disc 2 (1983-1987)

  1. Right Or Wrong
  2. Let’s Fall To Pieces Together
  3. Does Fort Worth Ever Cross Your Mind
  4. The Cowboy Rides Away
  5. The Fireman
  6. The Chair
  7. You’re Something Special To Me
  8. Haven’t You Heard
  9. In Too Deep
  10. Lefty’s Gone
  11. Nobody In His Right Mind Would’ve Left Her
  12. It Ain’t Cool To Be Crazy About You
  13. Ocean Front Property
  14. Rhythm Of The Road
  15. Six Pack To Go (Duet With Hank Thompson)
  16. All My Ex’s Live In Texas
  17. Am I Blue
  18. Famous Last Words Of A Fool

Disc 3 (1987-1991)

  1. Baby Blue
  2. If You Ain’t Lovin’ (You Ain’t Livin’)
  3. Baby’s Gotten Good At Goodbye
  4. Bigger Man Than Me
  5. Hollywood Squares
  6. What’s Going On In Your World
  7. Ace In The Hole
  8. Love Without End, Amen
  9. Drinking Champagne
  10. I’ve Come To Expect It From You
  11. If I Know Me
  12. You Know Me Better Than That
  13. The Chill Of An Early Fall
  14. Lovesick Blues
  15. Milk Cow Blues
  16. Gone As A Girl Can Get
  17. So Much Like My Dad
  18. Trains Make Me Lonesome

Disc 4 (1991-1995)

  1. Wonderland Of Love
  2. I Cross My Heart
  3. Heartland
  4. When Did You Stop Loving Me
  5. Overnight Male
  6. The King Of Broken Hearts
  7. Where The Sidewalk Ends
  8. Easy Come, Easy Go
  9. I’d Like To Have That One Back
  10. Lovebug
  11. The Man In Love With You
  12. Just Look At Me
  13. Stay Out Of My Arms
  14. Big Ball’s In Cowtown (With Asleep At The Wheel)
  15. The Big One
  16. Fly Me To The Moon (Duet With Frank Sinatra)
  17. Check Yes Or No
  18. I Know She Still Loves Me

    Audio / George Strait talks about a few highlights of his career beginning with his song, "Unwound."


    George Strait (great things in his career) OC: …happen to me. :36
    “It seems like just a year or two ago that I cut ‘Unwound’ and started this whole deal with MCA Records and everything. I had a lot of highlights in my career. You know, winning Entertainer of the Year was certainly a big highlight of my career and just being able to continue on with the same record label for this long is also, when you stop and think about it, that’s a long time to be with one record label, but I’ve had a lot of good things happen to me.”